Winners of the National Book Critics Circle Awards


The 2022 National Book Critics Circle Awards

If you purchase books linked on our website, The Times might earn a fee from Bookshop.org, whose charges help impartial bookstores.

Honorée Fanonne Jeffers, Anthony Veasna So and Clint Smith are amongst this yr’s seven winners of National Book Critics Circle Awards for work printed in 2021, introduced Thursday throughout a digital awards ceremony by the group of American guide critics.

Jeffers received the prize in fiction for “The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois,” her debut novel about Black historical past and coming of age within the South.

So, who died in December 2020, was awarded the John Leonard Prize for a primary guide, offered for his posthumous quick story assortment, “Afterparties.” The guide follows a group of Cambodian Americans dwelling largely within the Central Valley and offers with reincarnation, the inherited trauma of the Khmer Rouge period, queerness and the intricacies of household life. The judges recommended “Afterparties” for its “vigor, originality, and good humor” and expressed their condolences. “The NBCC joins So’s loved ones and readers in celebrating his work and mourning his loss.”

Smith acquired the nonfiction award for “How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning With the History of Slavery Across America,” a piece that explores the legacy of slavery and its lasting impact on U.S. historical past.

The poetry prize went to Diane Seuss for “frank: sonnets,” a deeply private assortment that explores the creator’s life and her seek for some semblance of “beauty or relief.” In the biography class, Rebecca Donner received for “All the Frequent Troubles of Our Days: The True Story of the American Woman at the Heart of the German Resistance to Hitler.” At its middle is Donner’s great-great aunt, Mildred Harnack, an American girl executed by the Nazis for main an underground resistance group in Germany throughout World War II.

Jeremy Atherton Lin took house the autobiography prize for “Gay Bar: Why We Went Out,” a transatlantic tour of the homosexual bars that formed the creator’s queer identification and that weaves collectively memoir, criticism and historical past. In the criticism class, Melissa Febos received for “Girlhood,” a set of tales concerning the values that form women and the ladies they develop into. Judges known as it an “incisive, vibrant critique of what it means to grow up female.”

Author and literary critic Merve Emre and author and distinguished USC professor Percival Everett have been additionally honored in the course of the occasion as recipients, respectively, of the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing and the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award. The Cave Canem Foundation was additionally honored, receiving the inaugural Toni Morrison Achievement Award.

The full listing of finalists:

Hanif Abdurraqib, “A Little Devil in America: Notes in Praise of Black Performance”
Jeremy Atherton Lin, “Gay Bar: Why We Went Out”
Rodrigo Garcia, “A Farewell to Gabo and Mercedes: A Son’s Memoir of Gabriel García Márquez and Mercedes Barcha”
Doireann Ní Ghríofa, “A Ghost in the Throat
Albert Samaha, “Concepcion: An Immigrant Family’s Fortunes”

Susan Bernofsky, “Clairvoyant of the Small: The Life of Robert Walser”
Keisha N. Blain, “Until I Am Free: Fannie Lou Hamer’s Enduring Message to America”
Rebecca Donner, “All the Frequent Troubles of Our Days: The True Story of the American Woman at the Heart of the German Resistance to Hitler”
Mark Harris, “Mike Nichols: A Life
Alexander Nemerov, “Fierce Poise: Helen Frankenthaler and 1950s New York”

Melissa Febos, “Girlhood
Jenny Diski, “Why Didn’t You Just Do What You Were Told?: Essays”
Jesse McCarthy, “Who Will Pay Reparations on My Soul?: Essays”
Mark McGurl, “Everything and Less: The Novel in the Age of Amazon”
Amia Srinivasan, “The Right to Sex: Feminism in the Twenty-First Century”

Joshua Cohen, “The Netanyahus
Rachel Cusk, “Second Place
Sarah Hall, “Burntcoat
Honorée Fanonne Jeffers, “The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois
Colson Whitehead, “Harlem Shuffle

Patrick Radden Keefe, “Empire of Pain: The Secret History of the Sackler Dynasty
Joshua Prager, “The Family Roe: An American Story
Sam Quinones, “The Least of Us: True Tales of America and Hope in the Time of Fentanyl and Meth
Clint Smith, “How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning With the History of Slavery Across America”
Rebecca Solnit, “Orwell’s Roses

B.Okay. Fischer, “Ceive
Donika Kelly, “The Renunciations: Poems”
Rajiv Mohabir, “Cutlish
Cheswayo Mphanza, “The Rinehart Frames
Diane Seuss, “Frank: Sonnets

John Leonard Prize
Ashley C. Ford, “Somebody’s Daughter: A Memoir”
Jocelyn Nicole Johnson, “My Monticello: Fiction”
Torrey Peters, “Detransition, Baby
Larissa Pham, “Pop Song: Adventures in Art & Intimacy”
Anthony Veasna So, “Afterparties: Stories”
Devon Walker-Figueroa, “Philomath: Poems”

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.